When you join, you receive membership in the IRC, as well as membership in a local or special interest council.  Not sure which local or special interest council you should join?  Click on the below map to find the council closest to you.   Each of the below council pages has contact information for the local council presidents and current activities happening in your area. 

Click on the map to find the council closest to you.


Region 1

Northern Illinois Reading Council
(Boone, DeKalb, Winnebago, Eastern Lee & Ogle)

Northwestern Illinois Reading Council
(Jo Daviess, Stephenson, Carroll)

Sauk Valley Reading Council
(Eastern Whiteside & Henry, Western Lee, Ogle, & Bureau)

Starved Rock Reading Council
(LaSalle, Grundy, Kendall, Livingston, Eastern Bureau)

Region 2

Chicago Area Reading Association - CARA
(Chicago Area - Cook County within the Chicago city limits)

Lake Area Reading Council
(Western Lake, McHenry, Northwestern Cook)

Suburban Council of IRA - SCIRA
(Eastern Lake, Northern Cook)

Region 3

Fox Valley Reading Council

Prairie Area Reading Council
(Western DuPage County)

West Suburban Reading Council
(DuPage County east of Route 83 and those parts of Cook County west of Austin Boulevard excluding all areas within the Chicago city limits)

Region 4

Black Hawk Reading Council
(Rock Island, Mercer, Western Henry & Whiteside)

Illinois Valley Reading Council
(Stark, Putnam, Marshall, Peoria, Woodford, Tazewell, Eastern Fulton, Mason)

Mississippi Valley Reading Council
(Adams, Brown, Pike, Scott, Greene, Calhoun)  

Western Illinois Reading Council
(Henderson, Warren, Knox, McDonough, Hancock, Schuyler,  Western Fulton)

Region 5

South Suburban Reading Council
(Those parts of Cook Co. bounded on west by Will-Cook Rd., north by 115th St., and/or Chicago City limits)

Two Rivers Reading Council
(Kankakee, Iroquois, Northern Ford)

Will County Reading Council

Region 6

Central Illinois Reading Council
(Logan, Menard, Cass, Morgan, Sangamon, Christian, Montgomery)

Macon County Reading Council

MID-State Reading Council
(McLean, DeWitt)

Region 7

East Central-EIU Reading Council
(Moultrie, Shelby, Cumberland, Coles, Clark, Edgar, Douglas)   

Illini Reading Council
(Champaign, Piatt, Southern Ford)

Vermilion Valley Reading Council

Region 8

Lewis and Clark Reading Council
(Macoupin, Jersey, Madison, St. Clair, Monroe, Washington, Clinton)

National Road Reading Council
(Bond, Effingham, Fayette)

Region 9 

Southern Illinois Reading Council
(Jefferson, Randolph, Perry, Franklin, Williamson, Saline, Gallatin, Union, Johnson, Pope, Alexander, Hardin, Pulaski, Massac, Jackson)

South Eastern Reading Council
(Lawrence, Richland, Clay, Crawford, Jasper, Edwards, Wabash, Wayne, White)

Region 10 - Special Interest Councils

CIRP - College Instructors of Reading Professionals  

ITA - Illinois Title I Association

ICARE - Illinois Council for Affective Reading Education

ILLC - Illinois Language and Literacy Council

SRL - Secondary Reading League

For more information, contact us at [email protected].