Regional 2 Director: Becky McTague


Becky McTague, President
LaVerne Wright, President-Elect
Tenesha Hatter, Vice President
Nicholas Giacobbe, Secretary
Marygrace Farina, Treasurer
Barbara Kent, Membership
Laura St. John, Past President

CARA Directors

Kiwana Brown
Valerie Brown
Miyoshi Brown
Denise Gamble
Robin Jacks-Dubose
Derrick Kimbrough
Lita McClinton
Yocelin Perez
Michelle Willis
Nicole Williams

Join CARA on Facebook!
CARA Bylaws - Chartered January 1957



December 2020

Upcoming Events

November 13, 2021:  Chicago Area Reading Association (CARA) will host Fall Reflections with Tanesha Hatter, Kenya Edwards, and Laura St. John from 9:30 to 11:30 am via Zoom.  The Reflections session will illustrate how to use the arts to deal with trauma at the school level and at the teacher level at your school.

February 12, 2022:  Chicago Area Reading Association (CARA) will host Winter Renewal with Linda Pincham from 9:30 to 11:30 am via Zoom.  The Winter Renewal session will illustrate how to align SEL learning through critical thinking, creativity, communication, and collaboration to develop opportunities for learning.

March 10-11, 2022:  Illinois Reading Council will host the 53rd Annual IRC Conference, Literacy in Bloom, in Springfield, Illinois.  Please take a moment to peruse the online Conference Preliminary Program that highlights the speakers planned for 2022.

April 23, 2022:  Chicago Area Reading Association (CARA) will host Spring Conference on Fluency with Timothy Rasinski from 8:00 am to 3:00 pm at a location TBD.  Other break-out sessions include Char Cobb and Camille Blackowicz on vocabulary,  Kristin Lems on English
Language Learners, and Greg Jones on Cognitive Demands on Reading and Writing for High School.


For more information about the upcoming events, email the council president.